‘A good photo makes you think: Damn, why didn’t I think of that?’

This article is a part of the ‘Triple 10′ project.  I’ll present 10 photographers, my friends and acquaintances. My goal is to help photographers to expand their horizons through reading how other people think and feel about photography and for everyone else to enjoy a good photo. Why ‘Triple 10’? I asked them to answer 10 questions about photography and themselves and to present 10 of their best, recent or favourite photos.

Today I present Jelena Horvat from Koprivnica.
Jelena is a pedagogue in an elementary school and an ex-owner of my Olympus E-30, which i bought off her recently. She replaced it with E-PL5 and her small hands are now much happier.

How would you describe your style in photography?

– I wouldn’t say I’ve got a particular style. I love clear colors and lines, geometry…

What inspires you?

– I find inspiration in things I don’t see with my bare eye. I like to crouch, look at the dew on the grass, look into some spiders’ eye…

What’s important to get a good photo?

– A good photo is the one that makes you think: ‘Damn, why didn’t I think of that?’ It’s obvious, but out of the box and innovative.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What would you like to photograph and you never had the chance?

– Some lively two or three year old. First, it would be a challenge. I also wonder how would I ‘click’ with a child when in the role of photographer. Usually, I’m good at it.

If you could travel through time, when and where would you take your camera?

– Without a doubt, 1920s. I’m very curios how did they do studio lightning then; there were wonderful models on every corner and the street was very inspiring.

What’s the craziest thing you’ve done for the photograph?

– As a model, staring at the off-camera flash hidden in the book. As a photographer, every jump in the high grass or crouching to get a proper macro is crazy enough.

Did the photography help you through life?

– Yes. It got me out of the house, I met some beautiful people. Every now an then it gives me an injection of confidence. That’s why I photograph – not to have ‘wow’ photographs, but to watch the world around me and make myself know it.

14823227399_e41a8f6595_k OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What equipment do you use?

– I use Olympus E-PL5 with 14-42 and 40-150 kit lenses. I also have ZD 14-54, my favourite 35mm macro, manual lenses (50mm 1.8, 28mm 2.8 and Tamron 70-210, big and heavy beast). I also have a flash, but don’t use it often.

What of the above is a must have?

– Memory cards. Everything else is just a tool.

How important is post processing in photography?

– It’s a nice tool to express your creativity. I used to play with post processing, textures, but realized that a bad and uninteresting photograph can’t be helped. If I like the photo, I use minimal post processing. The only times I’m really careful are conversions to black and white.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

